Oooh I’ll get by…

I’ve had a hard few months.  Lyme disease isn’t exactly fun stuff, but what can you do?  It’s not going to last forever so I’m just going to take it for now. 

There are days when I can’t get out of bed.  I literally lie there pressing play on the same movie over and over.  But I’m not here to dwell on symptoms, I’m here to dwell on the support system which has shown itself since this happened.

I’ve had relatives all over the place offering help, visiting and sending cards and little gifts.  My room is filled with small objects given to me by people who want me to know they’re there for me.  I cherish every single one.  It’s amazing to know how many of my relatives have gone through things with similar symptoms and similar consequences. 

I’ve heard from only two “real-world” friends, but not very often.  I’m not upset about it, life happens and people move on.  They’ve been supportive when we’ve spoken though.  And once I can leave the house they’ll be there.

The real surprise has been my online friends.  They’re always there.  I have four friends on Steam who have been absolutely amazing, and one more Steam friend who has been great too.  Just to clarify, I separated them because the group is of five of us and the other doesn’t know the other four.  I had two of these five people give me new games, both because I’m down to my last chunk of emergency fund and also because they thought I would enjoy them. 

These five people have been exactly what I need.  They’re like a drop of normalcy when most of my days are not.  They’re concerned, but won’t pry if I ask them not to.  They’re patient and kind, and a little inappropriate when it means a laugh.  They don’t make a big deal of the fact that I’m a chick playing Left 4 Dead, which you’d be surprised how many people do.  One of them is even waiting for me to finish single player Portal 2 so that we can both discover the Co op together.

So all in all this experience of being ill has sucked, but it’s been one of the most valuable experiences of my life.  It’s been amazing to see the friendships I’ve found, and I couldn’t feel luckier to have them.  So I guess I’ll get by with a little help from my friends.  (Cheezy ending, had to be done.  Sorry!)

Cheers!  –Cassie

One Response to “Oooh I’ll get by…”

  1. For what it’s worth, I know what it’s like to suffer from a chronic illness. You have my sympathies. I hope you feel much better soon. 🙂

    Maybe you can find inspiration in this post? http://midlistlife.wordpress.com/2009/12/28/i-wont-let-helen-keller-totally-kick-my-ass/

    It’s just a thought. 🙂 Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

