What’s in a Name?

Some of the best people I’ve ever met have been online.  I firmly believe that people can meet online and it can have the same quality as a face to face friendship.

But that’s not my point.  I have a problem.  Some of these people who I’ve met now want to know my name.  My real name.  The one my parents gave me.  And really it’s no big deal, right?  Mean, like Shakespear said, “a rose by any other name would smell as sweet”. 

My name is just a collection of letters put together so that people can identify me in a crowd, a quick description used by anyone who knows it to communicate to everyone which human being out of the millions I am.  My name has no bearing on me as a person, it leaves no indication of who I am, where I am, what I am.

It’s my theory that the names we give ourselves online are much more meaningful.  I once played with a person who called themselves “Time Lord”.  This said much more to me about him as a person than if they had just said “Tim” or “John” or “Alison” or something. 

So why am I having so much trouble giving it up?  Why am I so paranoid?  It’s not like I’m telling them where I live or giving up credit card numbers or anything like that…though I’m sure that they wouldn’t do anything with that information anyway…no less sure than anyone I meet face to face.

I’m just so torn.  I made a rule long ago not to give anyone online any personal information.  I broke the rule first by making this blog…but should I break it again?  I don’t want to lose the friendship, but I don’t want to break my rules either.

Leave a Reply

